This weeks North Sea Triple Threat Regatta took place on a beautiful Thursday afternoon in March with the wind coming from the Southwest again with a beautiful sail. Today we had five Bandit 22 LTEs and five Bandit IFS on the starting line. A Bandit IF had crew on board.
We had two beautiful races. At the 22s there was a skipper “Lord and Master” during both races. A skipper ended up in the “Circle of the Dragon” during the pre-start. At the IFs, a skipper was too eager and started early. As a result, a catch-up race had to be made.
There were no DNFs (Did Not Finish) and no DSQs (Disqualified) through both races and it was another successful and sporty day in The North Sea.
Race Director: Daenerys
Assistant Race Director: Cryptic
Wind: 230° (SW) 18kts
Wind: 220° (SW) 18kts
Did Not Finish (DNF) = number of finish +1
Disqualified (DSQ) = number of finish + number of DNFs + 1
Did Not Start (DNS) = number of start +1
Today’s winners on the Bandit 22 LTE were Emi (Emileigh Starbrook), with Nicole (Nicole Myhre) second, and Ester (citacg Resident) in third place.
Today’s winners on the Bandit IF were Moonglownight (Moonglownight Resident), with Julie (JulieRoyale) second, and Jack (Jacquimo Resident) in third place.
Congratulations to all of you. Thank you to everyone who came to sail and spectate.
Alex (Alex0730 Resident) did hit the fire of “The Circle of the Dragon” in the Pre-Start of the second race
“During the start there will be a circle in the water that we call “The Circle of the Dragon”. Everyone stays out of this circle until 10 seconds before the start signal. When you are to early in the circle, then I will add 30 second penalty to you finish time.“
Therefore Alex finish time was added with 30 seconds.
Gryfin (Gryfin Goldshark) and Alex (Alex0730 Resident) finished tied with 9 points. As they both have duplicate finishes, Rule A8.2 of Appendix A, Scoring, 2021 – 2024 World Sailing Racing Rules of Sailing is used to break this tie:
“If a tie still remains between two or more boats, they shall be ranked in order of their scores in the last race. Any remaining ties shall be broken by using the tied boats’ scores in the next-to-last race and so on until all ties are broken. These scores shall be used even if some of them are excluded scores.“
|Skipper||Race 1||Race 2|
In the last race, Gryfin breaks the tie with Alex with his fourth place finish over Alex’s fifth place finish.