Friday night in the North Sea saw another great fleet and spectator turnout for this weeks Cat Fight in The North Sea. The North Sea regions were well behaved as only one DNF (Did Not Finish) was recorded on the night. Spectators took in the fleet-foiled felines from the Poseidon Centre Spectator Pier and committee boat dock in the Eden Lapwing regions, as well as from the beaches of the island in the Ziziphus region. This weeks fleet, racing on the North Sea Copacabana Reverse and North Sea Bowline Reverse courses, was comprised of a majority of eight The Mesh Shop (TMS) Flying Shadows, five crewed and three single-handed respectively. Two TMS Nacra 17s made up the remainder of the fleet.
Race Director: Cryptic
Wind: SW (225°) 18kts
Did Not Finish (DNF) = number of finish +1
Did Not Start (DNS) = number of start +1
Today’s winner was Ginko (GinkoStar Resident), with Moon (moonglownight Resident) second, and Daenerys (blondij Resident) in third place. Congratulations to all of you. Thank you to everyone who came to sail and spectate.
Isa (isab DeCuir) was disqualified during the first race for incorrect course, missing multiple course marks.
Mel (MelannieVeena Resident) was disqualified during the first race for incorrect course, incorrectly rounding the blue buoy in the Sapote region, the fifth course mark.
Raven (Ravenight7 Resident) was disqualified during the second race for incorrect course, incorrectly rounding the pink buoy in the Eden Fulmar region, the fifth course mark.
Nihiwatu (Nihiwatu Resident) was disqualified during the second race for finishing the race without completing a penalty turn as requested by a race director, she committed a Rule 11 (windward/leeward) foul before the start line (barging).
“11 ON THE SAME TACK, OVERLAPPED
When boats are on the same tack and overlapped, a windward boat
shall keep clear of a leeward boat“
Palani (Palani Allen), Nihiwatu (Nihiwatu Resident), and Isa (isab DeCuir) all finished tied with 15 points. Rule A8.1 of Guidance on Scoring under Appendix A to the Rules of Sailing is used to break this tie:
“If there is a series score tie between two or more boats, each boat’s race scores shall be listed in order of best to worst, and at the first point(s) where there is a difference the tie shall be broken in favour of the boat(s) with the best score(s). No excluded scores shall be used.“
|Skipper||Best Finish||Next Best Finish|
With the race results rearranged in best to worst finish order, per A8.1, the tie breaks in Palani’s favor with having a fifth place finish over Nihiwatu’s sixth place and Isa’s seventh place best finishes. Nihiwatu further breaks the remaining tie with her sixth place best finish over Isa’s seventh place best finish.